Customary Units Of Measurement In Nepal

In Nepal, some customary units of measurement are still used, although the Metric System has been the official standard since 1968 B.S. If you are searching on the internet to know Nepalese customary units of measurement, follow this measurement unit for your purpose.
In Nepal, area measurement system used for land in Terai regions is completely different from hilly regions. Kattha, Bigha and dhur systems are mainly used in Terai region. In other hand, Ropani, Aana, Daam and Paisa systems are used in mountainous regions.
So, we have collected the list of units which are helpful to calculate land area in Nepal. We have tried to cover commonly used measurement units in Nepal. More units will be updated soon.
1 Bigha (बिघा) = 20 Kattha1 Ropani (रोपनी) = 256 Daam
1 Bigha (बिघा) = 6772.63 m²1 Ropani (रोपनी) = 4 Matomuri
1 Bigha (बिघा) = 72900 sq.ft.1 Khetmuri (खेतमुरी) = 25 Ropani
1 Bigha (बिघा) = 13.31 Ropani1 Aana (आना) = 4 Paisa
1 Kattha (कठ्ठा) = 20 Dhur1 Aana (आना) = 31.80 m²
1 Kattha (कठ्ठा) = 338.63 m²1 Aana (आना) = 342.25 sq. ft.
1 Kattha (कठ्ठा) = 3645 sq.ft.1 Aana (आना) = 16 Daam
1 Dhur (धुर) = 16.93 m²1 Paisa (पैसा) = 4 Daam
1 Dhur (धुर) = 182.25 sq.ft.1 Paisa (पैसा) = 7.95 m²
1 Ropani (रोपनी) = 16 aana1 Paisa (पैसा) = 85.56 sq. ft.
1 Ropani (रोपनी) = 64 Paisa1 Daam (दाम) = 1.99 m²
1 Ropani (रोपनी) = 508.72 m²1 Daam (दाम) = 21.39 sq. ft.
1 Ropani (रोपनी) = 5476 sq.ft.1 Haath (हात) = 1.5 ft.

0 Response to "Customary Units Of Measurement In Nepal"

Post a Comment

First of all, thank you for taking the time to read my blog. It's much appreciated! If you would like to leave a comment, please do, I'd love to hear what you think!

Suggestions and/or questions are always welcome, either post them in the comment form or send me an email at

However, comments are always reviewed and it may take some time to appear. Also Comments without proper "NAME" will not be published hereafter (2019) :) Always keep in mind "URL without nofollow tag" will consider as a spam.